Blighty Still Mightily White

snowtime ww13

snowtime 020

snowtime 030

snowtime ww11

win49

win45

win43

win44

win53

From the Land of Snow, still waiting for the Sun. But the view from my window still dazzles. Here are a few more pics taken recently by Amanda. They show how, down here in our corner of fairyland, we are still feeling the chilled breath of the North. I hope you like them.

Below are the words to a song I wrote for a Folk-Rock group that I joined once. I think it was 1970, or thereabouts.  It was definitely in Wintertime though.

 

Winter’s Snow falling down

Hungry birds search the ground

Cold my face, my hands, my feet

Warm my heart, the spirit’s heat

Far the sky, purple night

Very high, beyond sight

I will fly, string and kite

Snowdrop’s sigh, feather light

Blowing cloud, chilly wind

Through the trees, out and in

Flowing through purple night

Golden glow, spirit light

Thrown away body’s binds

Down to lay for to find

Warmer ways, peaceful mind

Thousand petalled lotus shines

Winter’s snow falling down

Sings its song, makes no sound

Sitting high on a hill

Smiling face, keeping still

Cold around cannot bite

Gentle sound turning sight

Love is found, burning bright

Snow falls ’round purple night

 

And with that, I bid you peace, and Namaste from Amras.

 

Photography ©Amanda Moloney.

Author: amras888

Francis Moloney @Amras888 Composer, instrumentalist and Logic 8 software user. Bereavement Counselor retired. A Philosopher now disabled, bedbound but happy. Love my wife, son, and dog.

12 thoughts on “Blighty Still Mightily White”

  1. It’s already summer temperature in Montenegro and the Russian in me craves the snow… I am hardly functional in tropical heat, yet most of the years that’s how we spend 5 months a year… Aggh, considering emigration to Siberia, i am telling you (at least for the summer ;))

    Like

Leave a Reply

